Buhari Appoints Abike Dabiri-Erewa and 6 Commissioners (Full List)

President Muhammadu Buhari

The President of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari, has formally requested that the Senate confirm Abike Dabiri-Erewa for a second term as the Chairperson of the Nigerians in Diaspora Commission (NiDCOM).

The request made by President Buhari was presented in written form and read aloud by Senate President Ahmad Lawan during a session of the upper legislative chamber on Tuesday.


Read Also Police finally arrest suspended Adamawa REC Yunusa-Ari



Buhari reappoints Abike Dabiri-Erewa as NiDCOM chair

Buhari reappoints as NiDCOM chairperson. 

Mrs. Abike Dabiri-Erewa is the inaugural chairperson of the commission, which is located within the Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs.



Read Also How Seyi Tinubu’s firm acquired a$11m UK property of Diezani associate under EFCC probe


Prior to assuming the position of NiDCOM chair, she held the esteemed role of Senior Special Assistant to the President on Foreign Affairs and Diaspora.


Dabiri-Erewa previously served as a member of the House of Representatives, representing the Ikorodu constituency in Lagos.



“President Requests Appointment of Six Commissioners to RMAFC”


The President has submitted a formal request to the upper legislative chamber for the appointment of six commissioners to the Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC), as stated in a separate correspondence.


The President has nominated Ayogu Eze from Enugu state, Peter Opara from Imo state, and Hauwa Aliyu from Jigawa state.



Additional individuals include Tanko Ayuba Haruna from Kebbi state, Ismaila Mohammed from Kwara state, and Kolawole Daniel Abimbola from Oyo state.


Who is Abike Dabiri-Erewa?


Abike Dabiri-Erewa is a Nigerian politician, journalist, and former member of the Nigerian House of Representatives. She was born on October 10, 1962, in Jos, Plateau State, Nigeria. Dabiri-Erewa served as Chairman of the Nigerian Diaspora Commission from 2019 to 2021, and prior to that, she was the Senior Special Assistant to the President of Nigeria on Foreign Affairs and Diaspora.


Her advocacy and work in improving the welfare and rights of Nigerians living abroad and promoting investment opportunities in the country have made her known. She has received numerous awards for her contributions to public service and journalism.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here