Ganduje finally reveals APC’s Choice for senate presidency


Akpabio Will Be Senate President; We’ve Resolved It –


, the departing governor of Kano State, has stated that Godswill Akpabio, a former minister of Niger Delta affairs, will be the next president of the 10th Senate.


There were rumours that Senate President Ahmed Lawan was spearheading the opposition to Akpabio’s candidature.



Read Also:BREAKING: Kano Governor, Ganduje declares curfew as INEC declares Kwankwaso’s NNPP winner of governorship polls


According to reports, Lawan advised President-elect Bola Tinubu not to support the former governor of Akwa Ibom State because he would not receive sufficient senate support.


On Thursday, at a meeting with his counterpart from Cross River, Ben Ayade, in Calabar, the state capital, Ganduje stated that the decision to nominate Akpabio had already been made.



Kano State Governor Abdullahi Ganduje endorses Godswill Akpabio for the position of Senate president.
Kano State Governor, Abdullahi Ganduje tips Godswill Akpabio, senator-elect, will serve as senate president.

He stated, “The senate president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria will come from the south-south, and it will be the former governor of Akwa Ibom.”



Also Read:137 killed, 57 Kidnapped during 2023 peaceful elections – Report


“The uncommon governor, the uncommon minister, who will be the uncommon senate president. We have therefore resolved the matter.


“I assure you that he will be the senate president of Nigeria; we are merely awaiting the appointed date.”



However, the Kano governor did not clarify whether this was an All Progressives Congress (APC) leadership decision.


According to reports, the APC leadership is seeking consensus candidates for all key positions in the tenth national assembly.



Incoming senator Akpabio is not the only candidate for senate president. Other senators include Orji Uzor Kalu (APC-Abia North), Abdul-Aziz Yari (APC-Zamfara West), Dave Umahi (APC-Ebonyi South), and Adams Oshiomhole (APC-Edo North).

Candidates need a simple majority of votes to win the of the Senate. On June 13, the 10th Senate is anticipated to be inaugurated.



Thanks for using our platform to learn about the latest on Akpabio Will Be Senate President; We’ve Resolved It – Ganduje

Our WhatsApp Channel



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here