Pool Fixtures |Pool Results| Npower News

Breaking news in Nigeria today 24/7, Latest Nigeria News Headlines, Latest news in Nigeria today 2023, Nigeria Newspapers

Advertisement 18

INEC Begins Presentation Of Certificates Of Return To Oborevwori and other Governors-Elect


INEC Begins Presentation Of Certificates Of Return To Governors-Elect


Following the conclusion of the March 18 elections, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has begun presenting certificates of return to the newly elected governors in 26 states where winners have been declared.


In addition, certificates are to be presented to the newly elected state legislators in each of the 36 state legislatures.


Advertisement 3ina

Read Also: Evidence Submitted In Court Can Lead To Annulment of 2023 Presidential Election — Falana


INEC National Commissioner Festus Okoye noted in a statement last Saturday that Section 72(1) of the Electoral Act 2022 requires the Commission to issue a certificate of return within 14 days to every candidate who has been declared elected in accordance with the law.


Therefore, INEC has set Wednesday (today) and Friday as the dates for issuing certificates of return to the winners of the March 18 elections, adding that the presentations will take place in INEC offices in each state.


Advertisement 6

The results of 26 of the 28 governorship elections have been announced thus far, with Kebbi and Adamawa remaining as inconclusive contests. On April 15, supplementary elections will be held in both states.


The Beneficiaries

The All Progressives Congress (APC) won in fifteen states, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won in nine states, and the Labour Party (LP) and the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) each won in one state.


Advertisement 9

In all, the ruling APC won in 15 states, including seven re-elected governors Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq (Kwara), Inuwa Yahaya (Gombe), Mai Mala Muni (Yobe), Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa), Babagana Zulum (Borno).


Additionally, the party secured victories for eight new candidates: Umar Namadi (Jigawa), Ahmed Aliyu (Sokoto), Dikko Radda (Katsina), Uba Sani (Kaduna), Bassey Otu (Cross River), Mohammed Bago (Niger), Hyacinth Alia (Benue), and Francis Nwifuru (Ebonyi).


In contrast, the PDP won nine elections, including the reelection of two governors: Seyi Makinde (Oyo) and Bala Mohammed (Bauchi).


Advertisement 12

Advertisement 12

Also Read: FG Speaks On Court Cases Against Tinubu, Discloses Plan for May 29 Handover 


In addition, seven first-term governors were elected on the opposition party’s platform. Peter Mbah (Enugu), Umo Eno (Akwa Ibom), Siminialayi Fubara (Rivers), Kefas Agbu (Taraba), Caleb Mutfwang (Plateau), and Sheriff Oborevwori (Delta) are their names.


In a historic victory, Dauda Lawal of the PDP deposed Zamfara State Governor and APC power broker Bello Matawalle.


Advertisement 15

Abba Kabir of the NNPP dethroned the APC in Kano State, while Alex Otti of the LP won Abia, which had been a PDP stronghold for the past few years.


Thanks for using our platform to learn about the on INEC Begins Presentation Of Certificates Of Return To Governors-Elect

Advertisement 6

Advertisement 18

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More