JUST IN: Controversy trails PDP primaries as winners emerge


Controversy trails primaries as winners emerge

The PDP‘s branch has petitioned the National Working Committee (NWC) to call off the primaries for the House of Assembly and House of Representatives.

Mr. Philips Aivoji, the party’s chairman, made the announcement at a press conference.

The electoral committee’s ad hoc delegates’ lists for both primaries, according to Aivoji, had been tampered with.


The exercise was yet to take place at the time of reporting this report, since party members were stranded while officials in charge of the exercise arrived.

“We are all astonished to find that the lists do not reflect the authentically chosen Ad-Hoc delegates as performed by the party’s organs at the ward level and overseen by the DSS and ,” Aivoji added.

“Copies of the state’s Ad-Hoc lists, which were presented to INEC, are completely different from the one brought by the committee for the purpose of the exercise.”


“We have been unable to contact the committee chairman and secretary because their phones have been shut off or are unavailable.”

“As law-abiding members of our great party, we unanimously reject these lists and can no longer guarantee the free, fair, and credible party primary that we have vowed to hold.”


“The proceedings were rigged from the start to favour one candidate over another.

“As a result, we demand that the election be called off completely.” Otherwise, not alone would the party’s electoral prospects be jeopardised.”

Over 10 gunmen stormed the Anglican Girl’s Grammar School in Ozoro, Isoko North Local Area, where the PDP House of Assembly primary was being held.


Shortly after the results were announced, they assaulted the arena in three Toyota Sienna vans, shooting into the air.

The incumbent, Rollands Igbakpa, and Erhiatake Suenu-Ibori tied for the PDP Ethiope Federal Constituency after each receiving 34 votes.


Mr Eugene Ozum, the returning officer for the Ethiope Federal Constituency, pronounced the election a tie and stated the PDP hierarchy would convene to make a conclusion.

Orode Uduaghan, the daughter of former Delta Governor Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan, was defeated by Fred Martins in the PDP Warri North Constituency primary.


Uduaghan, who received only seven votes, was defeated by Fred Martins, who received 25 votes.

Askia Ogieh, the former Managing Director of the Delta State Oil Producing and Development Commission (DESOPADEC), lost the PDP Isoko Federal Constituency primaries to Jonathan Ukodhiko, who received 33 votes to Askia’s 21.


Ten of Niger’s 26 seats submitted election results before 8 p.m.


Rafi, Bida South, Bida North, Bosso, Lavun, Suleja, Gurara, Chachanga, Wushishi, and Bosso are among the LGAs.

At 8 p.m., Niger PDP Director of Special Duties Rahina Ibrahim sent an email to all electoral officers informing them that the state party secretariat had closed and that results would be collated again at 8 a.m. .


Many LGAs experienced late arrival of electoral officers and thugs disrupting activity.

The PDP candidates for the 26 state constituencies and 10 federal constituencies in Akwa Ibom were chosen through primaries.

The drills, which started about 1 p.m. owing to late material delivery, were pleasant.


Members who were angry with the results of the ad-hoc delegates election on April 30 skipped the primary.

Mr. Ephraim Inyang-Eyen, a Senatorial aspirant for Akwa Ibom South (Eket) district, revealed that they boycotted the primaries because it was illegitimate.

Michael Isaiah, alias Tompolo, a native of Ogbia, Bayelsa State, was assassinated during the primaries in the area.


As candidates, many fresh names emerged. Mrs Ebizi Ndiomu-Brown, a former Deputy Chief of Staff to Seriake Dickson, was proclaimed the winner of the Sagbama Constituency 3 election.

Pamoh Werinipre won the Kolokuma-Opokuma Constituency 1 election.

In Ogun, Rasheed Kashamu, the son of late Senator Buruji Kashamu, won the primary election for Ijebu North State constituency 1 (Ijebu Igbo).

Yusuf Daisi, also known as Legacy, was elected to the PDP House of Assembly for the Ijebu Ode state constituency.

The primaries were marked by late arrival of materials and the absence of supplies in some centres.

Criticism and dissatisfaction followed the primaries in Oyo.

While the intra-party election went through without a hitch in some areas, the scene was tense in others.

Some delegates alleged they did not sign INEC results at the ancient Mapo Hall, where the primary for Ibadan South East State Constituency 1 was held, to show their opposition to the manner the election was conducted.

St. John’s Primary School, Alake, Academy, Ibadan, the election venue for South East State Constituency 2, had a similar report.

Delegates also claimed that some party leaders intimidated and harassed them in order to ensure that only those who would vote for their candidates were permitted to vote. They said that party leaders showed there with uniformed security officers who allegedly barred certain delegates from voting.

At Mapo Hall, our correspondent spotted the party’s Deputy National Chairman, Amb. Taofeek Arapaja, who was surrounded by security personnel including police officers, DSS agents, and Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps members (NSCDC).


Security officers insisted that only delegates be allowed into the hall where the election was held, therefore journalists were not permitted in.