Labour Party crisis worsens as NEC suspends acting chairman, Apapa, five others

Labour party

NEC suspends acting chairman, Apapa, five others, backs


In a recent development, the Labour Party’s National Executive Council (NEC) has taken action against six members, including the Acting National Chairman, , for their alleged involvement in anti-party activities. The decision to suspend these individuals was made by the NEC, which serves as the highest decision-making body of the party.


The suspended members are Alh. Saleh Lawal, who holds the position of Deputy National Secretary; Rawland Daramola, who serves as the National Financial Secretary; Prince Reuben Favour, the National Vice-Chairman for the South-South region; Samuel Akingbade, the National Legal Adviser; and Mohammed Akali, the National Vice-Chairman for the North-East region.



The suspension was implemented without any explanation provided.


Read Also: Labour Party defeats incumbent to win another Reps seat


The decision of the Akure convention to expel Comrade Arabambi Abayomi, the National Publicity Secretary of the party, has been reaffirmed and upheld by the NEC.



On April 6, 2023, Apapa and five other individuals assumed control of the party’s operations. This was in response to a Federal High Court ruling that prohibited Julius Abure and three other individuals from assuming the role of party chairman, officers respectively.


In compliance with the court’s restraining order, Apapa, the Vice Chairman of the South, has assumed control of the party until the court order is lifted.


During a meeting held in Asaba, the capital of Delta state, the NEC announced the suspension of Apapa and his acting executive.



Also Read: INEC Declares Fintiri Winner Of Adamawa Governorship Election


During the meeting, a vote of confidence was passed on the Abure-led National Working Committee (NWC).


The National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting was graced by a host of dignitaries including members of the National Working Committee, State Chairmen, State Secretaries, the party’s presidential candidate, Peter Obi, National Assembly members-elect, as well as representatives from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and the Trade Union Congress (TUC).



In a recent development, the National Executive Committee (NEC) has decided to prolong the current tenure of the National Working Committee (NWC) of the political party by an additional year.


Thanks for using our platform to learn about the on Labour Party NEC suspends acting chairman, Apapa, five others




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here