Biography of 7 Supreme Court Justices to determine Tinubu, Atiku, Obi’s fate

7 Supreme Court Justices

Meet 7 Supreme Court Justices Set to Determine Presidential Fate.


On Thursday, the Supreme Court is poised to bring to an end the legal dispute that has surrounded Nigeria’s presidential election held on February 25. While initially facing five petitions contesting President Bola Tinubu’s victory for the All Progressives Congress (APC), only three have made it to the apex court.


Two of these petitions were withdrawn before reaching the Presidential Election Petition Court (PEPC) proceedings at the Court of Appeal in Abuja. The remaining appeals have been filed by former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, representing the Peoples Democratic Party, and Peter Obi, the Labour Party’s candidate.

The Supreme Court has reserved judgment on these two appeals after all parties presented their final briefs of argument on Monday.

As the nation waits for the crucial Supreme Court judgment, it’s worth examining the profiles of the seven Justices who will have the fate of President Tinubu, Atiku, and Obi in their hands.


Meet 7 Supreme Court Justices.

Justice John Inyang Okoro:

Justice Okoro is the head of the panel responsible for deciding on the petitions seeking to remove President Tinubu from office. He was born on July 11, 1959, in Akwa Ibom State and has a long legal career, culminating in his elevation to the Supreme Court on November 15, 2013.

Justice Uwani Musa Abba-Aji:

Justice Abba Aji is the most senior female jurist on the Supreme Court bench and is the only woman on the panel. She was born on November 7, 1956, in Yobe State. Her legal career has seen her rise through various roles, including serving as the Presiding Justice at the Court of Appeal Kaduna Division.

Justice Mohammed Lawal Garba:

Born on November 16, 1958, in Zamfara State, Justice Garba has served in various capacities in the Nigerian legal system, including as a Chief Judge in Zamfara State. He was elevated to the Court of Appeal in 2004 and joined the Supreme Court on November 6, 2020.

Justice Ibrahim Saulawa:

Justice Saulawa, born on September 29, 1956, has a wealth of legal experience. He served in the Ministry of Justice, Kaduna State, and held various judicial positions before becoming a Judge of the Court of Appeal. He was elevated to the Supreme Court on November 10, 2020.

Justice Adamu Jauro:

Born on June 26, 1959, in Gombe State, Justice Jauro’s career includes working as a Director of Public Prosecution. He has served in various judicial capacities and was appointed a judge of the Federal High Court and later the Court of Appeal. He joined the Supreme Court in November 2020.


Justice Tijjani Abubakar:

Justice Abubakar, from Yobe State, has an extensive legal background. He has worked in various roles, including as Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice of Yobe State. He joined the Federal High Court and later the Court of Appeal, eventually reaching the Supreme Court in 2020.

Justice Emmanuel Agim:

Justice Agim, born on April 26, 1960, has a diverse legal journey that includes serving as President of the Court of Appeal of The Gambia. He later became a Justice of the Supreme Court of Swaziland and subsequently a Justice of the Court of Appeal of Nigeria. In October 2019, he was elevated to the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

These seven Justices of the Supreme Court hold the future of Nigeria’s presidential election in their hands, as they prepare to deliver their verdict on Thursday.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here