Full List: Lawmakers eyeing Senate presidency seat


Ejes Gist News Nigeria has curated Full List of Lawmakers eyeing Senate presidency seat


Ahead of the 10th National Assembly’s inauguration, lawmakers-elect have begun vying for the Senate presidency.



The 10th Assembly will be inaugurated in June 2023, following the inauguration of Asiwaju Bola Tinubu as president-elect on May 29.



Read Also: APC may zone Senate President position to South-South — Source


In the 10th Assembly, members of the All Progressives Congress, Peoples Democratic Party, Labour Party, and New Nigeria Peoples Party will populate the red Chamber.


Other political parties include the Social Democratic Party, the All Progressives Grand Alliance, and the Young People’s Progressive Party.



The APC won 57 seats, the PDP won 29, and the Labour Party cruised to victory with 6 seats. In addition, the NNPP and SDP each have two members, while APGA and YPPP each have one.


In addition to the Senate presidency, positions for vice president and speaker of the House of Representatives are up for election.



Others are caucus leaders for the majority and minority. They consist of the majority leader, the deputy majority leader, the majority or chief whip, the deputy whip, and the minority leader, the deputy minority leader, the minority whip, and the deputy minority whip.



But the race for the next senate president has begun in earnest prior to the 10th National Assembly’s inauguration.


It is speculated that the zoning of the office by the ruling APC will have a significant impact on the selection of the next senate president.



APC leaders in the South-South and South-East demanded the zoning of the senate presidency to their regions in the spirit of fairness and to give other geo-political regions a sense of belonging in light of the party’s adoption of a Muslim-Muslim presidential ticket.



Also Read: Ex-Lagos deputy gov vows to renounce citizenship before Tinubu’s inauguration


The Senate spokesperson, Senator Ajibola Basiru, told newsmen that the ruling APC would likely release the zoning formula for the 10th Assembly leadership following the Ramadan fast.



Senator Basiru disclosed this information during his Wednesday morning appearance on Channels Television’s Sunrise Daily.


Bashiru stated, “I believe that our party will ultimately decide on the zoning after Ramadan and before June, when the next Assembly will be convened.”


Below is a list of legislators who have publicly declared their desire to lead the tenth National Assembly.


Full List of Lawmakers eyeing Senate presidency seat


1. Senator Jibrin Barau (Kano Central).


2. Sani Musa (Niger East).


3. Orji Kalu (Abia North).


4. GodsWill Akpabio (Akwa-Ibom North-West).


5. Senators Osita Izunaso (Imo West).


6. Peter Ndubueze (Imo North).


7. Abdul’Aziz Yari (Zamfara West).


8. Ahmad Lawan (Yobe North).


9. Ali Ndume (Borno South).


Thanks for using our platform to learn about the latest Naija News on Full List: Lawmakers eyeing Senate presidency seat




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here