Home Politics Today Supreme Court Dismisses Suit Seeking to Sack Governor Sheriff Oborevwori

Supreme Court Dismisses Suit Seeking to Sack Governor Sheriff Oborevwori

INEC Declares PDP's Sheriff Oborevwori Winner Of Delta Guber Polls

Supreme Court Dismisses Appeal Seeking Disqualification of Delta State Governor, Sheriff Oborevwori


The Supreme Court has delivered its judgment on an appeal filed by Ikie Aghwarianovwe, who sought the disqualification of Delta State Governor, Sheriff Oborevwori, based on allegations of supplying false information about his academic qualification and date of birth to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).


In a unanimous decision, a five-member panel of the apex court held that Aghwarianovwe’s appeal lacked merit as he failed to demonstrate that the concurrent decisions of the lower courts were erroneous. Justice Adamu Jauro authored the lead judgment, which was read on Friday by Justice Emmanuel Agim.


The Supreme Court upheld the judgment of the Court of Appeal, Asaba division, rendered on May 5, 2023, which affirmed the decision of the Federal High Court, Asaba division. The lower courts concluded that Aghwarianovwe had failed to substantiate his case and that Oborevwori was qualified to contest in the last governorship election in the state.


Read Also Senator Nwaoboshi’s Dramatic Vindication as Supreme Court Overturns Conviction

Justice Jauro emphasized that none of the grounds of the appeal demonstrated any pervasiveness in the findings of the lower courts. He stated, “After a thorough consideration of the arguments presented by all parties on the various issues raised, it is evident that this appeal is destined to fail. There is no saving grace for it. From the grounds of appeal to the issue of jurisdiction and the merit itself, the appeal was dead on arrival, with no chance of success.”


Consequently, Justice Jauro dismissed the appeal and affirmed the decisions of the lower courts. Additionally, he awarded costs of N6 million against the appellant, with N3 million to be paid to each of the first and second respondents, namely the PDP and Oborevwori.



The other members of the panel, Justices Mohammed Garba, Ibrahim Saulawa, Tijani Abubakar, and Agim, concurred with the lead judgment.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here